Milestones

Rainbow over Penally, West Wales

Rainbow over Penally, West Wales

I am aware that, once again, I have allowed life to overtake me and I have neglected my blog, partly because I’ve been away from home a lot. Returning to it last night I posted an entry for the Weekly Photo Challenge for the first time in a while – since the end of September it seems… (I had to look back to check) so yesterday’s contribution was long overdue!
As a result of taking the time to post (instead of just clicking the screen away, thinking I’ll do it later and then failing to come back) I clocked up 100 followers. It was never the aim of this blog to attract a multitude of ‘followers’, much more for my own satisfaction – to actually do something with my photos and encourage me get back into writing again. But how encouraging it is to know that people are looking at my photos and even, dare I say – enjoying , what they see?
It was February this year when I started…. looking back through my posts I think I’ve deviated somewhat from the original intention – I haven’t done nearly as much ‘free writing’ as I hoped although I have been writing in response to the photographs I’ve chosen. I started a series of ‘Travelogues’ – but never got beyond the first one! My attempt to describe my ‘Sunday Strolls’ was more successful – but even that has lapsed in recent weeks.
And then this morning I logged my 1000th ‘like’…… and I’ve renewed my determination to keep this going. Hopefully I will finish the series of strolls, and I have two trips to add to the Travelogue. And I think perhaps I need to update my ‘About’ page!
In the meantime I have ‘met’ a lot of wonderful people, all with their own reasons for being here, but each contributing something special to the overall experience. I am very conscious that many of you are far more expert photographers than I can ever hope to be, but you still take the trouble to ‘like’ something that catches your eye – and so given me tremendous encouragement along the way. Equally I have enjoyed looking at your photographs and picking up a few ideas and tips to try out with my trusty Nikon! Some of you I have entered into ‘conversations’ with and feel that I know you a little bit better than others.
Thank you all for the support, encouragement and pleasure you have given me!

2 thoughts on “Milestones

Leave a Reply

