Swimming

This place has been my salvation over the past few weeks. It’s not very impressive from the outside but if you look beyond the functional exterior you will have some idea of the views to be had from the inside.

celtic haven1

I’ve been swimming here three times a week since the New Year. The pool looks out over Carmarthen Bay and on a good day, on to the headlands in the distance. In the other direction Caldey Island sits firmly in the waters of the bay, often looking more like an extension of the mainland rather than a separate entity.

I love swimming…. I’m not a fitness freak or an exercise junkie ….. I don’t do the gym or cycle or run but I am partial to a walk in the fresh air – and swimming. At the moment, owing to problems with my knees, I find swimming the easier option. I am not a fast swimmer, or a powerful swimmer or a very gainly swimmer but it makes me feel good. I’m an Aquarian and I know that’s an air sign but I definitely have an affinity with water – although rather than carrying the water I am happy to let the water carry me.

I’ve got a lot going round in my head at the moment and some mornings I find it hard to get myself motivated – but the thought of slipping into the warm water, letting it take the weight off my knees and enjoying an hour and a half of exercise with no aches and pains is enough to get me there. It’s not  a particularly exciting pastime, swimming up and down, particularly as the pool is only 10m long so it takes quite a few lengths to hit my target of swimming 1km each time, and yet something draws me back there day after day. I know I will come away enlivened and able to tackle the tasks that I keep putting off.

Leave a Reply

